Sunday, April 11, 2010



Brother Johann is the chief operating officers of the St. Francis Friars, the 2009 expansion team entry into BARB. The Friars are actual monastic order, an offshoot of the Dominicans and influenced by the thought of Albertus Magnus.

While the GM remains the elusive Scott Hatfield, the day-to-day operations of the franchise will take its lead from the order, which emphasizes charity, education and open-mindedness.

"As Paul said," Brother Johann quoted, "charity bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things and bears all things. As we are surrounded by the return of spring, our hearts turn once again to the sound of bat on ball. We believe that last season was a proving ground. For He is like a refiner's fire! Our roster has changed, and we ask you to consider the work that has been done since last season began!"

Veteran baseball scribes sighed, as usual, at the flowery pronouncements of the Head Friar, but it had to be admitted that a whiteboard diagram held up in the middle of the room did show evidence of serious change. On the right, in green, is listed the 2009 Opening Day Roster and next to, with new acquisitions bolded in red, is the 25 men projected to open with the parent club this season. It is clear that the 2010 Friars will be more than a collection of castoffs.


C Ronnie Paulino C Rod Barajas
C/IF Brandon Inge C Ronnie Paulino


IF Felipe Lopez 1B Adam LaRoche (RH) / Casey Blake (LH)
IF Nick Punto 2B Ben Zobrist (RH) / Felipe Lopez (LH)
SS Cesar Izturis SS Alexei Ramirez
IF/OF Ryan Freel 3B Casey Blake (RH) / Andy LaRoche (LH)


IF/OF Casey Blake LF Johnny Damon (RH) / Carlos Quentin (LH)

IF/OF Ben Zobrist CF Shin Soo-Choo (RH) / Ben Zobrist (LH)
OF Johnny Damon RF Carlos Quentin (RH) /Shin Soo-Choo (LH)
DH Johnny Damon (RH-LH)


Virtually none. C Taylor Teagarden
IF Cesar Izturis
2B Felipe Lopez
OF Chris Young
OF Scott Hairston

Starting Pitchers:

RHP Justin Verlander RHP Roy Oswalt
RHP Kyle Davies
RHP Jorge De La Rosa
RHP Gavin Floyd RHP Bronson Arroyo
RHP Edwin Jackson RHP Gavin Floyd
LHP Jamie Moyer LHP Jamie Moyer


RHP Yusmeiro Petit AAA: RHP Chris Young
RHP Chris Ray AAA: RHP Fausto Carmona
RHP Juan Salas AAA: RHP Randy Wells
RHP Frank Francisco AAA: LHP Tony Sipp
LHP George Sherrill
LHP Jason Vargas long men: Jason Vargas, Micah Owings
setup: George Sherrill, Pedro Feliciano, Brandon Lyon
closer(s): Joel Zumaya, Frank Francisco

What a huge difference from a year ago, especially when you consider the stockpile of prospects now in the system: C Jesus Montero and J.P. Arecebia, IF Brett Lawrie and Todd Frazier, 3B Pedro Alvarez, RHP Kyle Drabek and Shelby Miller, LHP Tyler Matzek, Mike Montgomery and Clayton Richard


No comments:

Post a Comment